Merrilltown was two miles south of McNeil in northern Travis County. It was named for Capt. Nelson Merrill, who settled there in 1837 and later operated a store and post office. The post office was established in 1851. By the mid-1880s the community had a steam gristmill and cotton gin, a general store, a church, and a district school to serve its population of thirty-five. The number of residents had increased to 100 by the mid-1890s. The Merrilltown post office was discontinued in 1902, and mail for the community was sent to Round Rock in Williamson County. Merrilltown was the focus of a common-school district until 1949, when part of its territory was consolidated with the Round Rock Independent School District and the remainder was consolidated with the Pflugerville schools. A few scattered houses marked the area on county highway maps in the late 1940s. The area has since been annexed by the city of Austin.
BIBLIOGRAPHY: John J. Germann and Myron Janzen, Texas Post Offices by County (1986).
Vivian Elizabeth Smyrl
"MERRILLTOWN, TX." The Handbook of Texas Online. [Accessed Tue Jan 4 11:37:37 2000 ].
Return to Copperfield History Page